Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Apr 25, 14, 04:23AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News:

+  Do It Yourself Home Security Alarm Forum
|-+  Technical Support
| |-+  Ademco Technical Questions
| | |-+  Issue with Honeywell 5894pi Motion Sensor
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Issue with Honeywell 5894pi Motion Sensor  (Read 933 times)
alarmclock

« on: Apr 09, 12, 08:26AM »

Hi everyone,

This is my first time here and would greatly appreciate it if any of you guys could help me out on this one. I've had my alarm for 2 years and this is the first issue I've had with it. My house had an ademco system installed when I moved in and when I called the alarm company to hook everything up, they installed honeywell equipment for the keypad, motion sensor and wireless door and window sensors. I needed to paint the room where the motion sensor is so the other night when I popped the front cover off of it, eventhough the alarm was not set, it killed the dial tone and my keypad started beeping. I removed the motion sensor and noticed that once I put it back, the little red light doesn't blink at all when the front cover is on it. If I take the cover off it, the red light blinks. When I put the alarm in 'test mode', a fault is showing for the motion sensor. I tried taking the batteries out of it and then putting them back in to see if this would "reset" it but I still have the same problem. Any assistance would be appreciated. Thanks guys.
DEL Installations
Tech Advisor/Moderator

Low Voltage Systems Integrator

« Reply #1 on: Apr 14, 12, 03:03PM »

The first items mentioned are normal par for the course, trouble beeps and sending a signal to the CS when a RF device is opened or "tampered" with. Also, the motion will also turn on the LED for a short period after having the cover removed for testing purposes, which generally time out after about 5-10 minutes.