Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Apr 24, 14, 08:53AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News:

+  Do It Yourself Home Security Alarm Forum
|-+  Technical Support
| |-+  DSC Technical Questions
| | |-+  Dsc power 832
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Dsc power 832  (Read 4334 times)
codeblue
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 4


« on: Jan 16, 10, 03:43PM »

 Huh? I would like to use my alarm as a stand alone system. I don't want to be monitored any more. How do I disable the dialing option in the system. Can someone walk me through it from start to finish.
Please and thank you. Smiley
« Last Edit: Jan 16, 10, 03:46PM by codeblue » Logged
Ken_in_Pittsburgh
Tech Advisor/Moderator
*

Karma: +99/-0
Posts: 6363


« Reply #1 on: Jan 16, 10, 06:28PM »

Welcome to the forum.

    Before we can do anything, we must know whether you have the Installer's Code. If you don't know, you can try the default code (in case, by some chance, it was never changed), like this:  press   *8   5010 and take note of what happens. Let us know.

                                          --Ken
Logged

Dickens was paid by the word; I just can't stop myself.
Fishlips25
Security Professional
*

Karma: +15/-0
Posts: 744


Ademco,Dsc,Napco,Dmp


« Reply #2 on: Jan 16, 10, 06:28PM »

Get into programming by hitting *8 installer code. Once in hit 380 and hit 1 to turn off light 1 then hit #. This will disable the alarm from trying to communicate. You may also want to turn off the alarm from monitoring the phone line. If so hit 015 and 7 to turn off light 7 then #. To exit programming hit ##. If you don't know the installer code you can try the default ones in case they have not been changed. They are 5555 or 5010. If not then you may have to default the panel defualt dsc panel
« Last Edit: Jan 16, 10, 06:31PM by Fishlips25 » Logged

Alarm Technician
codeblue
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 4


« Reply #3 on: Jan 16, 10, 08:38PM »

Ok Ken and  Fishlips 25 Grin
I put in the installer codes but i don't think they are working. It beeped at me like i made a mistake. What i am trying to accomplish is a stand alone system with no monitoring. The system is about 10 years old. The first system's board got fried in the Eastern Seaboard blackout when the power came back on. So the installer put in another board which has had the trouble light on with the #4 code. He said he would be back in a couple of days to figure it out and fix it... never came back. That was seven years ago. Any suggestions on what to do Huh?
Logged
Ken_in_Pittsburgh
Tech Advisor/Moderator
*

Karma: +99/-0
Posts: 6363


« Reply #4 on: Jan 16, 10, 09:28PM »

The trouble code is not a concern at this point. You said this board was installed seven years ago. Have you ever been able to use it? Do you have a functioning access code? Is the green ready light on?

                                     --Ken
Logged

Dickens was paid by the word; I just can't stop myself.
codeblue
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 4


« Reply #5 on: Jan 16, 10, 10:05PM »

Yes I can set the alarm and turn it off. The green ready light is on and working.
Logged
Ken_in_Pittsburgh
Tech Advisor/Moderator
*

Karma: +99/-0
Posts: 6363


« Reply #6 on: Jan 16, 10, 10:22PM »

OK. Getting rid of the trouble code is easy. Remove all power from the system (unplug the transformer and the battery inside the cabinet), wait a minute, then reconnect power. You'll get a new trouble code (#8), which means you must reset the system clock (your manual tells you how to do that). Now, disabling the dialer is a different matter. You can't do that without entering Installer's Programming, and for that you must have the Installer's Code. Now there is a chance that you could reset the system to factory settings, but you would then need to reprogram from scratch. If your system were not functional now, I'd say go for it... what do you have to lose? But your system is usable as is, so it's not such an easy decision. If you think you'd like to gain control of your system by defaulting, take a look at the DSC FAQ's that tell you how to default and reprogram. If you want to tackle it, we're here to help.

                                      --Ken
Logged

Dickens was paid by the word; I just can't stop myself.
codeblue
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 4


« Reply #7 on: Jan 16, 10, 10:59PM »

Ok I'll try that. The reset is the last alternative. Thank for you help for now. I'll get back to you soon on my progress.
Doug
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length